Hear “Chloë and the Next 20th Century” by Father John Misty (and watch him play live in London)

Father John Mistynew album Chloe and the next twentieth century It came out today via Sub Pop. (Get it on the colored vinyl.) It’s an ambitious left turn, diving deep into the orchestral pop of the 1940s and ’50s, with nods to Cole Porter, George Gershwin, and Glenn Miller and classical musicals, with some twists on midnight cowboy sound territory. Josh Tillman still looks sideways to the modern world, with his archetypal personal studies and references to Letterman and Val Kilmer. It’s a pretty sweet record with some real features, like “Goodbye Mr Blue”, and the closest, “The Next 20th Century”, that gets surprisingly loud. Listen to the album below.

You can grab Chloe and the next twentieth century employment Loser Edition Blue Clear Double Vinyland the Deluxe Edition Comes on semi-transparent red vinyl with two 7-inch bonuses and a book.

Josh celebrated the album’s release in London earlier this week, performing at the Barbican with The Britten Sinfonia led by Jules Buckley. He performed the album fully and on track order, but split it a bit, scattering old songs like “Funtimes in Babylon”, “Mr Tillman”, “Pure Comedy”, “I Love You Honeybear” and “Date Night”. You can watch the full pro concert, and check out the full song list below.

Father John Misty will present a sold-out New York City launch special in the Rainbow Room on April 14, and Will be back later this year for a tour With the Suki Waterhouse that includes another New York City show, 65 stories just below The Rainbow Room, in Radio City Music Hall on September 22 With New York Pops. All tour dates are listed below.

See also  Matt Damon and Ben Affleck collaborate to produce a movie about Michael Jordan and Nike

List: Father John Misty @Barbican 4/7/2022
Funtimes in Babylon
renal
bye mr blue
Lobby Chateau No. 4 (in C for a virgin)
Kiss me (I loved you)
(everything but) her love
Mr. Tillman
Disappointing diamonds are the rarest of them all
Friends date
Q 4
Total entertainment forever
Olvidado (Otro Momento)
funny girl
just an idiot
pure comedy
God’s Favorite Client
We can be strangers
the next twentieth century
I love you dear

Encore:
Nancy from now on
Things that were useful to know before the revolution
shit

Encore 2:
date night

Father John Misty’s Journey: 2022-2023
Thursday. April 07 – London, UK – The Barbican w/The Britten Sinfonia led by Jules Buckley
Friday. Apr 08 – Kington upon Thames, UK – Banquet Records at PRYZM (5pm)
Friday. APRIL 08 – Kington Upon Thames, UK – Banquet Records at PRYZM (8pm)
sit down. Apr 09 – London, UK – East Trade Rough (4pm)
Saturday, April 09 – London, UK – East Trade Raw (8pm)
Sun. Apr 10 – Brighton, UK – RESIDENT OF CHALK
Monday. April 11 – Bristol, UK – Rough Trade Bristol at St. George’s Church (6:30 pm)
Monday. April 11 – Bristol, UK – Rough Trade Bristol at St. George’s Church (9:30 pm)
Thursday. Apr 14 – New York, NY – Rainbow Room at Rockefeller Center (7pm)
Thursday. April 14 – New York, NY – The Rainbow Room at Rockefeller Center (9:30 pm)
sit down. June 26 – Greenfield, MA – Green River Festival
Friday. Jul 08 – Des Moines, IA – 80/35 Music Festival
Sun. Jul 31 – Morrison, Colorado – Red Rocks Amphitheater with the Colorado Symphony *
married. Aug 03 – San Diego, CA – Humphreys concerts in the bay *
Friday. August 05 – Las Vegas, NV – Theater at Virgin Las Vegas Hotels*
sit down. August 06 – Phoenix, Arizona – The Van Buren *
Monday. August 08 – Oklahoma City, OK – Standard*
Tuesday. August 09 – Kansas City, MO – Midland Arvest Bank Theater*
Thursday. August 11 – Houston, Texas – White Oak Music Hall *
Friday. August 12 – Austin, Texas – Moody Coliseum *
sit down. August 13 – New Orleans, Los Angeles – Orpheum Theatre*
Sun. August 14 – Dallas, TX – Factory in Deep Ellum*
Thursday. August 18 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Forever Cemetery *
sit down. August 20 – Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre*
Tuesday. August 23 – Eugene, Oregon – McDonald’s Theatre*
Thursday. August 25 – Vancouver, British Columbia – Orpheum *
Friday. August 26 – Port Townsend, Washington – Thing Festival
sit down. August 27 – Portland, Oregon – Pioneer Square *
Monday. Sept 12 – Columbus, Ohio – KEMBA Live! *
Tuesday. September 13 – Philadelphia, PA – The Met Philadelphia *
Friday. Sept 16 – Richmond, Virginia – Brown Island *
sit down. Sept 17 – Asheville, NC – Bunny Bunny*
Monday. September 19 – Charleston, South Carolina – Rivera Theater *
Tuesday. September 20 – Washington, DC – National anthem *
Thursday. September 22 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall w/The New York Pops*
Friday. Sept 23 – Boston, MA – Leader Bank Pavilion *
sit down. Sept 24 – Bridgeport, Connecticut – Sound on Sound Festival
Monday. September 26 – Montreal, QC – MTELUS *
Tuesday. Sept 27 – Toronto, Ontario – Roy Thompson Hall *
Thursday. Sept 29 – Chicago, Illinois – Chicago Theatre*
Friday. September 30 – St. Paul, MN – Palace Theater*
sit down. October 01 – St. Paul, MN – Palace Theater *
Monday. Oct 03 – Milwaukee, Wisconsin – Riverside Theater *
Tuesday. October 4 – Indianapolis, Indiana – Claus Memorial Hall *
Thursday. October 06 – Nashville, TN – Ryman Hall *
Friday. Oct 07 – Atlanta, Georgia – Eastern *
sit down. Oct 08 – Durham, North Carolina – DPAC *
sit down. February 25 – Oslo, no – Mashhad Centrum
Tuesday. Feb 28 – Stockholm, Southeast – Circus
Thursday. March 02 – Denmark, DK – KB Hallen
Friday. March 03 – Berlin, de Colombia – Columbia Hall
sit down. March 04 – Amsterdam, NL – AFAS Live
Monday. March 06 – Brussels, BE – Ancienne Belgique
Tuesday. March 07 – Paris, France – Salle Pleyel
Thursday. March 09 – London, UK- O2 Academy Brixton
Monday. March 13 – Gateshead, UK – Sage Gateshead
married. March 15 – Glasgow, UK – Barrowlands
Friday. March 17 – Manchester, UK – O2 Apollo Manchester

See also  Heardle: The New Wordle for Music Lovers

*w/ Suki Waterhouse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.